This and that about APOSTILLE

June 7, 2013 - by Nida U.

Apostille from French means certification. It is an international certification, which, in domestic laws, can be compared to a notarization. It is a procedure by which official documents issued in one country are certified in a uniform way, so that they become formally acceptable in all another signatory countries.

In general all documents that are meant to be presented form one country in another must be certified. Apostilled document does not require any further evidence to prove its authenticity. Only in cases when a country is not signatory country (member) to The Hague Convention, documents must go through the Embassy of the country of intended use for final legalization.


As you can see in the images above, Apostille can come in different forms, it can be a sticker or stamp or a separate sheet with those 10 sections filled in.

One of the most popular views about Apostille is that it confirms the contents in the document itself, but that is very wrong! Apostille only certifies the first certifier, for example where notary has certified the original document, the Apostille certifies the Notary, the fact that he/she has been real, and have had the appropriate rights and powers to make the underlying certification in the first instance.

All of the below countries recognize Apostille certification:

  • Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan
  • Bahamas, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria
  • China (Hong Kong), China (Macao), Colombia, Cook Islands, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic
  • Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia
  • Fiji, Finland, France, FYR of Macedonia
  • Georgia, Germany, Greece, Grenada
  • Honduras, Hungary
  • Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy
  • Japan
  • Kazakhstan, Korea (Republic of)
  • Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg
  • Malawi, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro
  • Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Niue, Norway
  • Panama, Poland, Portugal
  • Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Serbia, Seychelles, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland
  • Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey
  • Ukraine, United Kingdom, USA
  • Vanuatu, Venezuela

Thank you for reading my post! And you are welcome to leave comments, feedback, suggestions for other posts or contact me for more information.

Offshore Publications

 Subscribe in a reader


Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter.